New Rug Hooking Frame

lap frame deluxe for web

Introducing the Playing Hookey Deluxe Rug Hooking Frame (lap version shown above)

This new frame came about after a conversation I had with a customer a couple of months back. She seemed interested in learning to hook, but she told me that she had broken her neck, and wouldn’t be able to look down in her lap the way we usually do. She asked if there were any upright frames that could be used for rug hooking.

What a fantastic idea, I thought! I don’t have a broken neck or anything, but I do get that common neck fatigue and stiffness after long hours of rug hooking. I knew she was onto something. (I wish I would have thought to take her name so I could thank her. Well, if you’re reading this today, kind person, you know who you are!)

It took a couple of months of trial and error, fiddling with the design to find that sweet spot where the rug is at a good angle, and is high enough that I don’t have to bend my neck, but not so high that my arms get tired. In every other way, the Deluxe frame does what the original Playing Hookey frame does; it converts from a lap frame to a floor frame, it collapses down so it’s easy to throw in a bag, and it works whether I am hooking with yarn or fabric strips.

floor frame deluxe for web
Just by slipping in the longer legs, the lap frame converts to a floor frame.

standing frame deluxe for web
And like the original Playing Hookey Frame, you can also cut yourself a set of longer legs, so you can stand while rug hooking. We all know that sitting too much isn’t good for our health, so it’s good to know that without even taking your rug off the frame, you can slip in the long legs and get up on your feet. The standing frame legs (shown above) don’t come with the Playing Hookey Deluxe Frame, mainly because the postage would be exorbitant, and pvc pipe is inexpensive and easy to cut to the desired lengths. Plus, the length of the pipes depends on the artist’s height, so they would be different for everyone. I am 5’6″, so for me, I needed two 38.5″ pipes for the back and two 42.5″ pipes for the front.

This is definitely my preferred frame, and will continue to be until someone comes along with a better idea! You can order the new frame at http://www.littlehouserugs.com/Frame-page.html.

The Featured Rug of the Month for June is this charming Winnie the Pooh rug.

pooh finished front view for web
Winnie the Pooh rug, designer unknown

This rug was around thirty years old, and had sustained some minor damage, typical for hand-hooked rugs. In the feature, I show how I fixed it. You can read about it at http://www.littlehouserugs.com/featured-rug-winnie-june-2017.html.

Do you have a rug you would like to see featured on http://www.littlehouserugs.com? Let me know! Every rug has a story, and we love to hear all about them. If your rug is featured, you will receive your choice of a free half-yard of linen, or our recycled cotton rug hooking bag that says “FIBER is good for you!”

scottie-for-web

Scottie, 10″x10″ Designed and hooked by Judy Taylor This is the kit for my 2017 Beginning Rug Hooking classes, including both yarn and fabric strips so students get to practice both techniques.

I’ll be teaching Beginning Rug Hooking this month at the Black Sheep Gathering in Eugene, OR. The class is on Sunday, June 25, 9-noon. There are still a few slots, so click here to register: http://www.blacksheepgathering.org/sunday_workshops.html

I’ll also have a booth all weekend, so if you’re in the area, stop on by!

whale

Whale Rug 35″x26.5″ Designed and hooked with handspun Jacob wool by Judy Taylor

And don’t forget that for every $50 you spend with Little House Rugs between now and November 25, 2017, you will be entered to win the Whale Rug (a $450 value!)

Happy Hooking Everyone!

Judy Taylor

 

 

Standard

5 thoughts on “New Rug Hooking Frame

  1. Sharon Johnston says:

    Thank you for sending this. What a great idea Judy. Rug hooking can be very bad for the posture so having one frame to stand at on a tilt and one for your lap forces one to change positions of coarse you need 2 pieces to work on, but you can get twice as much done because you don’t tend to become fatigued. I take frequent breaks and stand at my loom and do a bit of weaving which also uses different upper body muscles. It also helps me use up some of my yarn stash. Sharon

    Like

Leave a Reply

