Happy New Year!

edeldalfarm-rug-for-web

Edeldal Farm Rug, 3’x3′ Designed and hooked by Judy Taylor

Since this is the start of a new year, I thought about my very first rug, hooked in 1991. I had just learned to spin yarn from my brand new flock of Jacob sheep and Angora goats, but hadn’t yet discovered what I wanted to do with the yarn. I like knitting and crochet, even dabbled in weaving and macrame, but I was still on the lookout for a yarn craft that I loved as much as handspinning.

Then I found Claire Murray, a little shop in a little town called Poulsbo, WA. I walked in and saw all these lovely rugs made with YARN!!! I took a class, and as the corny joke goes, I was hooked. The rug above was my first attempt to design and hook a project of my own. I used it as my farm sign when I showed my sheep at the fair. It is imperfect; I hooked it on burlap (I didn’t know about linen then), and I still was not convinced that the yarn would stay in place, so I crammed too much yarn into the rug. I soon learned that the yarn needs more room, so I avoided that problem later.

(By the way, that is a very old phone number on the rug! You’d be better off to email me!)

My point is, this is a learning process. While the technique is fairly simple to acquire, it does take practice and experience to really get the hang of it. And some 125 rugs later, I’m still learning!

This month, blog subscribers can get 20% off on linen, so no excuses to get started on your new project for 2017! Order your linen now at http://hstrial-jtaylor9.homestead.com/blog-special-linen.html?_=1483657216119

whale

Whale Rug 35″x26.5″ Designed and hooked with handspun Jacob wool by Judy Taylor

Remember that between now and November 25, 2017, for every $50 you spend with Little House Rugs, you will be entered to win the Whale Rug (a $450 value!). (If you order $100 worth, you’ll be entered twice, etc.)

Happy hooking everyone and happy, happy new year!

Judy Taylor

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

